About Us


Calendar of Events

Glossary of Terms (Members Only)


Contact Us



DAMA International defines 11 knowledge areas covering core areas in the DAMA-DMBOK2 Guide for performing data management. Each knowledge area has section topics that logically group activities.



Certified Data Management Professional® (CDMP®)

Certification is an essential component of any professional career path.  Every data management professional should earn the Certified Data Management Professional (CDMP) designation.

The Certified Data Management Professional® (CDMP) ® credential is the designation earned by data management professionals who are committed to a career in the field and want to demonstrate their knowledge and experience in its various subject areas.  The designation CDMP® is awarded to those who qualify based on a combination of criteria including education, experience and test-based examination of professional level knowledge.  This certification is growing as the gold standard for measuring accomplishment in the data management field.


This credential has three levels of achievement: Associate, Practitioner, and Mastery.  At the Associate level, the candidate must pass the Data Management Core examination.  For the other two levels, the candidate must pass three exams: the Data Management Core, and two specialty exams of the candidate’s choice.  Depending on the credential level, a candidate must have a minimum of 6 months experience of demonstrated data-oriented work experience (Associate level) or up to 10 years’ experience (Mastery level).  A university degree or other diploma is recommended for each stage, and some form of post-secondary education is expected for those who achieve Mastery level.


CDMP® Information

Exams test knowledge, skills and/or abilities needed to perform data management job roles, duties and responsibilities

Examinations are based on material found in the Data Management Body of Knowledge (DAMA-DMBOK)© and related industry texts

The exams given are experienced based and are challenging – not everyone passes

Associate Level – pass the Data Management core exam at a minimum of 60% (minimum of 6 months to 2 years’ data management work experience)

Practitioner Level – pass all three exams at a minimum of 70% (minimum of 3 years’ data management work experience with additional years’ experience required for no post-secondary degree)

Mastery Level – pass all three exams at a minimum of 80% (minimum of 10 years’ data management work experience with additional years’ experience required for no post-secondary degree), along with an additional case study in a data management domain

The exams are product and vendor neutral, developed by data management experts

Testing online, provided through DAMA International

Recertification is required; 120 contact hours of continuing education activity every 3 years.  A certificate is not valid if not re-certified within three (3) years of the effective date.

Membership in DAMA New England or directly through DAMA-I is required of all those who hold the CDMP credential.

CDMP® Examinations

Data Management Core Exam – required

Specialty Exam Choices – choose two from the following list

Data Warehousing

Business Intelligence and Analytics

Data & Information Quality

Data Development

Data Operations (Database Administration)

Enterprise Architecture Framework

Integrated IT Project Management

Data Governance

Professional Development / Recertification

To maintain the currency of the CDMP® and to continue to use the designation, a certificate holder must earn 120 approved contact hours of continuing education over a 3-year period.  Many educational activities count, including attendance at DAMA chapter meetings and a variety of symposia/conferences, passing additional examinations, documented self-study in appropriate topics, creating and delivering presentations, article writing on appropriate topics, etc.